County Down

County Down, is one of the six counties that form Northern Ireland (United Kingdom), covering an area of 2,448 km² (945 square miles). It belongs to the province of Ulster. The estimated population in 1992 was 416,600, a more recent figure puts it at 454,000. The county town is Downpatrick, and the largest town is Bangor.

County Down

Down contains both the southernmost point in Northern Ireland (Cranfield Point) and the easternmost point on the island of Ireland (Burr Point).

The county borders County Antrim to the north, the Irish Sea to the east and County Armagh to the west.

The county colours, as used on flags at inter-county sporting events, are red and black.